This is the "Questions and Answers about Cushing Library" page of the "About Cushing Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About Cushing Library  

Procedures, policies, and commonly-asked questions
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://hnu.libguides.com/about Print Guide RSS Updates

Questions and Answers about Cushing Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hours

Spring 2014:

Monday - Thursday: 9 a.m. - 10 p.m.

Friday: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Saturday: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Sunday: 12 p.m. - 10 p.m.

Also see the Cushing Library Calendar

Recommend a Purchase

  • Recommend a Purchase
    If we don't own a book, journal, DVD, or other item you need, we may be able to buy it. Let us know what you need!
 

Quick Links


 

HNU Helpdesk

If you trouble logging into the library's resources off-campus or need help connecting to any of HNU's online services, contact the Helpdesk at 510-436-1611 or email helpdesk@hnu.edu.

 

Faculty Emeritus Privileges

Emeritus is a distinct honor given to retired faculty.  As an HNU emeritus faculty, they can retain their HNU ID card and library privileges to check books out and use other library resources. 

 

Answers to your most commonly asked questions

Basics

What are the library's hours, location, email, staff roster, OCLC code, etc.?

Who can use the Library?

How can I contact the library?

What does the library have to offer?

How can I find books, DVDs, articles, and theses?

What are the Library's hours?

Where are the other computer labs on campus?

Can I bring food and drink into the Library?

Who can use the Library's computers?

Who can use the Library's databases?

Where can I find out about upcoming library events?

Can I use my cell phone at the Library?

How can faculty members place books or other materials on Course Reserve?

Borrowing, Printing, Copying...

How many items can I check out, and for how long?

How can I request a book or article from another library?

How can I renew an item?

What are the fines for overdue items?

How much do copies and printing cost?

Library Classroom, Study Rooms....

Can I bring my class to the Library?

How do I reserve the Library Classroom?

How do I reserve a study room?

Research Help, Off-Campus Access...

When are librarians available at the reference desk?

How can I get assistance when I can't come to the library?

I'm having trouble logging in from off-campus!

What are the copyright policies for the Library's resources?

Thesis Binding

How do I get my thesis bound and where do I pick up my copy?

Donations

How can I donate to the library?


Basics - Back to the top ↑ 

Where is the library located? Who works there? What is its street address, phone, and other contact information?

The Paul J. Cushing Library is located at Holy Names University, 3500 Mountain Boulevard, Oakland CA 94619. 

Phone: 510-436-1332

Email: hnulibrary@hnu.edu

OCLC code: HN#

For staff contact information, visit the Contact Us page.

Who can use the Library?

All are welcome to visit Cushing Library. Service animals are always welcome. Minors must be accompanied and supervised by a parent or guardian at all times. From time to time, to ensure best service, we may ask you to present ID.

The following patrons have borrowing privileges:

  • Current Holy Names students, faculty, and staff (please have your campus ID card or other photo ID)
  • Holy Names alumni (Books and DVDs only. Must have valid ID card and verifaction from the Alumni Assocation to be issued a HNU alumni library card. Process may take a few days.)
  • Temporary borrowing cards issued to patrons from NCCPL member libraries are also honored.

Other library visitors may request Holy Names materials through their local library's interlibrary loan service.

What does the library have to offer?

The Library has free wifi, over 60 databases accessible on or off-campus, thousands of full-text online scholarly journals, over 80,000 eBooks, 60,000 traditional books, 33 computers, mobile whiteboards, printers, a scanner, a classroom, three study rooms, and dozens of comfortable study desks, as well as research help from our expert librarians and assistance from our other library workers. We offer classes year-round on how to use library resources, and we host literary and cultural events on a regular basis.

How can I find books, DVDs, articles, and theses?

Many of our books and DVDs and most of our ejournal articles and other electronic resources are available through HNU WorldCat, our catalog to materials owned by Holy Names and beyond. HNU WorldCat is also your self-service portal for requesting materials from libraries worldwide. A small number of materials, including HNU theses, can be searched by title or author through our "old" catalog: http://hlynms.sirsi.net.

    What are the Library's hours for Spring 2014?

    Monday - Thursday   9 am - 10 pm
    Friday 9 am - 5 pm
    Saturday 10 am - 5 pm
    Sunday 12 pm - 10 pm

    Where are the other computer labs on campus?

    • Heafey PC Lab - 7 days a week, 8 am - 10 pm
    • Residence Life PC Lab, 24/7 - The building doors will be locked from 9 pm to 8 am so commuter students will need to arrive prior to 9 pm to access the building. 
    • Hedco in Brennan- Mac computer lab, open unless there's a scheduled class

    May I bring food and drink into the library?

    Food and covered beverages are welcome everywhere in the library except near the computer workstations. 

    Who can use the Library's computers?

    Public workstations are available on a priority basis to Holy Names students, faculty and staff. Alumni can use any available computer for up to 2 hours per day. All others will be accommodated as space permits. 

    All workstations are shut down 15 minutes before the Library closes. 

    Who can use the library's databases?

    Faculty, students, and staff may access the library's 60-plus databases on or off-campus (see our off-campus services guide for instructions).

    Alumni can only access online databases from on-campus. 

    Other library visitors (including alumni) may use library databases on-campus, but may may not access our online databases off-campus due to licensing restrictions.

    Where can I find out information about upcoming library events?

    Information about upcoming library events can be found at the Cushing Library webpage, or by checking the weekly Cushing Library Hawk Squawks sent out to your e-mail accounts.

    Can I use my cell phone at the Library?

    You are welcome to text, tweet, email, and charge up your cell phones, smartphones, and other mobile devices anywhere in the library. We ask you to take voice calls outside.

    How can faculty place items on Course Reserve?

    Fill out a course reserves form and bring your material to the Access Services desk. See this procedure for the form and more information about course reserves.

     


    Borrowing, Printing, Copying... - Back to the top ↑ 

    How many items can I check out, and for how long?

    Students may check out a maximum of 10 items at any one time. Staff and faculty may check out an unlimited number of items.

    Circulating books, DVDs, Videos: 3 weeks

    Course Reserves: Depending on the reserve, a course reserve can be checked out for either 3-hours, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days (for Education Tests) or 1 week.

    How do I request a book or article from another library (interlibrary loan)?

    Please see our Interlibrary Loan page.

    How can I renew an item?

    Items may be renewed at the Access Services Desk, by phone at (510) 436-1332, email or through our chat service.

    • Three renewals are allowed per non-reserve item unless the item has been requested by another patron. 
    • One renewal is allowed per reserve item unless the item has been requested by another patron. 

    What are the fines for overdue items?

    * Overdue Books: $0.25 per day up to a maximum of $20.00 per item.

    * Overdue Course Reserves, Videos, CDs & DVDs: $1.00 per hour for 3-hour loan items, $5.00 per day for 1-day loan items (see the Course Reserves page).

    * Lost or Damaged Items: $20.00 processing fee plus cost of the item. Determination of damage is at Library staff discretion. 

    How much do copies and printing cost?

    * Photocopies: print management coming soon.  

    * Printing: currently free to students, faculty and staff.


    Research Help, Off-Campus Access... - Back to the top ↑ 

    When are librarians available at the reference desk?

    Librarians are on duty most afternoons and evenings, as well as during our Saturday and Sunday hours.

    Monday-Thursday 1pm - 8pm
    Friday    1pm - 5pm
    Saturday 12pm - 5pm

    You can also make an appointment by calling the Access Services Desk, by chat through the library website, by requesting an appointment, or by emailing hnulibrary@hnu.edu.

    How can I get assistance when I can't get to the library?

    The library offers email, chat, and telephone support for reference questions, research assistance, material renewal, and other services. See our Research Help page.

    I'm having trouble logging in from off-campus!

    See our guide to off-campus access 

    What is copyright policy for the Library's resources?

    Individual users of library resources are ultimately responsible for infractions of copyright law and personally liable for violations of intellectual property rights. 


    Library Classroom, Study Rooms... - Back to the top ↑ 

    Can I bring my class to the Library?

    Instructors are welcome to bring their classes to the Library. The library classroom is in high demand, so request it well in advance.

    Small groups are welcome in the Glass Lounge (the glassed lounge to your right as you enter the library). Our Library Classroom can accommodate 20 students and has 20 iMacs and two overhead projectors.

    How do I reserve the Library Classroom?

    To reserve the Library Classroom for one-time use, submit a request by completing this form. Please make your request well in advance.  Please note that due to the high demand for the Library Classroom, the Library cannot support semester long use. We will respond within 24 hours Monday thru Friday, but due to high demand, we cannot guarantee availability on short notice.

    Note that the Brennan building has a room, the HEDCO Center, that also has computers. The library does not manage this room. To reserve it, contact campus IT at helpdesk@hnu.edu.

    How do I reserve a study room?

    Students, faculty, and staff can reserve one of our three lower-level study rooms by completing this form. For rush service, contact the Access Services department at 510-436-1332. See our library calendar for available bookings. 


    Thesis Binding - Back to the top ↑ 

    How do I get my thesis bound and where do I pick up my copy?

    See the Thesis Binding Procedure.


    Donation Policy - Back to the top ↑ 

    How do I donate to the library?

    If you wish to donate items to the library, please see Karen Schneider, the Director of Library Services.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip