Citing Your Sources
Why Cite?
When writing a research paper or an essay, you need to support your ideas with quotes and examples of other people’s work. By citing a source, you are also giving other writers credit for their work, confirming the credibility and authority of the sources you are using, and showing depth in your research. The citations in your research paper or essay also allow your readers to investigate your findings, and help them conduct research on their own. Finally, strong citations in a research paper or essay contribute to the body of knowledge for the discipline you are writing about.
How do you cite sources?
There are three major citation styles used for most academic papers. Your instructor might have a preference for which style to follow. Each style has its own method for formatting citations and for producing bibliographies (a list of resources at the end of an article).
* APA Style – The American Psychological Association style is most commonly used in the field of psychology as well as social sciences (BF76.7 .P83 2010 Reserve)
* MLA Style – Modern Language Association of America is commonly used in literature, arts and humanities (LB2369 .G53 2003 Reserve)
* Chicago/Turabian Style is commonly used in the field of history (Z253 .U69 2003 Stacks/LB2369 .T8 2007 Reserve)
Database Citation Assistance
Academic Search Premiere, ProQuest Research Library, Sage Journals Online, and other databases will let you choose a citation style for the documents you wish to email, print or save. (For the most part, the database providers caution you against relying 100% on their citations. Always check automatically-generated citations against the style guide.)
Ebrary lets you choose either APA or MLA style for references to its books. To use this feature, you must be in a book. Then, select "Info Tools," "Preferences," then "Citation Style: Ebrary."
HNU APA & MLA Cheatsheet
This is a quick guide to using the APA & MLA citation styles as prepared by Holy Names librarians. Please download by clicking on the link below.
Additional Resources
- Cite Right (ebrary)A Quick Guide to Citation Styles : MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions and More
- Columbia Guide to Online Style (ebrary)This eBook covers how to search and cite electronic sources.
- EasyBibFree MLA citation generator.
- MS Word 2007 Create a BibliographyLearn how to automatically generate a bibliography in the style of your choosing based on your source information.
- MS Word 2007 Reference Tab TipsTutorial on creating and managing references on MS Word 2007.
- Son of Citation MakerFree online citation maker.
- Towson University's Online Writing SupportGreat resource on basic writing skills.
RefWorks - Online Citation Manager
Use RefWorks, an online citation manager, to keep track of all your articles and to create a bibliography for your research papers. Learn more about it on our RefWorks Guide:
Access to RefWorks:
APA Style Guide
- Purdue Online Writing Lab APA GuideTons of examples on how to format just about any kind of source.
- American Psychological Association Publication Manual FAQPresents in detail the American Psychological Association’s style requirements and conventions for manuscripts. The website offers helpful tutorials.
- APA Style TutorialThis video tutorial covers the basic rules of APA style.
MLA Style Guide
- Purdue Online Writing Lab MLA GuideThis site provides plenty of examples on formatting in MLA style.
- Cornell University's MLA GuideConcise guide with examples on how to cite online resources.
Chicago/Turabian Style Guide
- Purdue Online Writing Lab Chicago Manual of Style GuideThis site provides examples on formatting in Chicago style.
- Chicago Manual of StyleThe online Quick Guide provides examples to cite sources.

Loading...
