- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Thousands of scholarly articles across many disciplines. Our library's largest and most in-depth general database.
- Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)
Complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- Annual Reviews
Frequently-cited reviews in science, social science, and more.
- AP Images (AccuWeather)
A repository of thousands of digital images from the Associated Press that can be used (with attribution) in papers, presentations, websites or other academic uses by students and faculty.
- ArticleFirst (OCLC)
OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals.
- ATLA Religion Database/ATLASerials (EBSCO)
Hundreds of thousands of full-text articles and book reviews, many going back to the first issue.
- Biology Journals (ProQuest)
This database contains over 350 full text journals in the Biological Sciences, including journals dedicated to microbiology, botany, biological chemistry, zoology and environmental studies.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text articles for over 1,000 scholarly business journals, including over 500 peer-reviewed business publications. Includes a business thesaurus, NAIC codes, DUNS numbers, and company profiles (from Data Monitor).
- Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the newspaper of record for news, information, and jobs for university faculty and staff. In addition to HNU Library online access, you can create a free account on chronicle.com using your HNU email address to access the Chronicle anytime, anywhere through your computer, smartphone, or iPad.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Thousands of scholarly journals, some going back many decades, for nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative medicine, consumer health, and more.
- ClasePeriodica (OCLC)
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
- Cochrane Library
Provides access to full-text content from the Cochrane Collaboration, the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Hundreds of high-quality online videos available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- CQ Historic Documents Series (CQ Press)
The Historic Documents Series Online covers the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
- CQ Press (Combined Search)
Searches across four Congressional Quarterly databases (CQ Researcher, Historic Documents Series, Public Affairs Collection, and Supreme Court Collection) related to American government, politics, history, public policy, social issues and current affairs.
- CQ Public Affairs Collection (CQ Press)
Issues of the day, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents, and primary source materials, plus directories for governmental and nongovernmental agencies.
- CQ Researcher (CQ Press)
Weekly reports covering health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference offers hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and specialized reference works. A good place to begin investigating a new topic.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Thousands of free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- DOE Science Accelerator
Science Accelerator is a gateway to science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy.
- E-Journals (EBSCO)
The E-Journals database provides article-level access for the academic journals that Cushing Library subscribes to through EBSCO Subscription Services.
Over 50,000 titles, mostly scholarly, instantly readable on your laptop or desktop computer. Create a personal account to annotate and "bookmark" Ebrary titles.
- EBSCOhost (EBSCO)
Select a mix of EBSCOhost databases to search simultaneously.
- EBSCOhost eBooks (EBSCO)
Approximately 6,000 eBooks on a variety of topics.
- Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Thousands of scholarly and popular articles related to education. Also find conference papers, technical reports and policy papers, and more.
- Education Source (EBSCO)
Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Over 1,000 comprehensively indexed educational and education-related journals, primarily American, along with some Canadian and British publications.
- Films On Demand
Films on Demand is an educational streaming video resource that covers a number of subject areas, including business & economics, science & mathematics, humanities & social sciences, and health & medicine. It provides access to more than 11,000 curriculum-focused programs from more than 700 acclaimed producers, including BBC, PBS, NBC News, ABC News, National Geographic, A&E, and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Searchable, online reference encyclopedias and dictionaries from Gale-Cengage.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Content licensed by Holy Names University will include a link that reads "Find Full Text at HNU."
- GPO (OCLC)
Publications from the Government Printing Office (GPO).
- GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles related to a wide variety of environmental topics.
- Health Source (Consumer Edition) (EBSCO)
Hundreds of consumer-oriented health articles.
- Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition) (EBSCO)
Thousands of full-text scholarly articles on nursing.
- HNU WorldCat
HNU WorldCat provides a simultaneous search of our catalog of books and eBooks, books from our Camino partner libraries, and many online article collections, including PsycARTICLES, MEDLINE, Business Source Complete, and more.
- JSTOR Current Scholarship & Early Journal Content
JSTOR is a database of scanned scholarly articles dating back over a century of content. We subscribe to several current JSTOR journals, such as the American Journal of Sociology, and you can also access out-of-copyright articles (published prior to 1923). This is a great resource for researchers looking for historic materials.
- Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL)
KCDL is a searchable database of curricula, frameworks, and standards that brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
Abstracts of scholarly articles on librarianship and information science.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Authors' biographies and overviews, full-text literary criticism, reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, and other resources invaluable to research in literature and writing.
- LitFinder (Gale)
Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
- MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO)
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines.
- MEDLINE (OCLC)
The National Library of Medicine’s index to medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
A comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments in subjects such as psychology, education, business, and leadership. The archives include complete coverage of all eighteen editions of the Mental Measurements Yearbook dating back to 1938, and contains over 7,000 full-text product reviews.
- NAXOS Music Library
A classical music library that offers streaming access to close to 40,000 compact discs with over half a million tracks.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Local and national newspaper articles, including SF Chronicle, but not Oakland Tribune.
- Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
Many full-text journals in medicine, nursing, nutrition, psychiatry, and public health.
- OAIster (OCLC)
Catalog of digital resources from open archive collections. Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide. Contents include digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images and theses.
- OCLC FirstSearch (OCLC)
FirstSearch lets you search through all the databases OCLC has to offer.
- OvidSP - Your Journals@Ovid (WoltersKluwer Health)
HNU subscribes to nine prestigious nursing journals hosted online by OvidSP. To search these journals, click "Continue" from the first screen and select "Your Journals@Ovid" on the subsequent menu.
- PaperFirst (OCLC)
- Primary Search (EBSCO)
Full-text articles for close to 100 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full-text articles include a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
- Proceedings (OCLC)
- ProQuest (All)
Search across multiple subjects through the ProQuest search engine.
- ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest)
A general database offering thousands of full-text scholarly articles.
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
Thousands of full-text articles related to psychology.
- Psychology Journals (ProQuest)
Thousands of journal articles and dissertations in Psychology.
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Large database containing citation information on a broad range scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences but limited full text.
- PubMed (National Library of Medicine)
Millions of biomedical articles and citations from MEDLINE and life sciences journals.
You can create a free account for Qualtrics survey software using your HNU email address, available to all HNU users.
- Rand California Statistics
Rand California Statistics range from employment to annual spending per pupil to population projections. Much of the data are available at the national, state, county, city, and zip code levels.
- RefWorks -- an online citation management tool
We list RefWorks first because it's a master tool you can use to manage citations, create a personal database of references, and quickly generate bibliographies in a wide variety of formats.
- Religion Journals (ProQuest)
Articles from hundreds of scholarly journals in Religion.
- RILM Music Literature (EBSCO)
Thousands of scholarly articles for music research. RILM recently moved to a new platform and is now much easier to use.
- Sage Journals Online
Scholarly articles from hundreds of journals, particularly strong in the sciences.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States
The United States Census Bureau provides this authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
Scholarly and popular articles for hundreds of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.
- Wiley Online Library (Wiley-Blackwell)
Thousands of full-text articles and book chapters from a wide range of journals and eBooks covering a variety of subjects mathematics and science, history, medicine, technology, business, education, law, and the social sciences.
- WorldCat Dissertations (OCLC)
Global catalog with citations for billions of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.