Quick Links
Persepolis
Visit Marjane Satrapi's Amazon page to browse her other titles.
If you liked Persepolis...
Did you enjoy Persepolis? Do you like graphic novels? The Cushing Library has the movie, the sequel, and ten more graphic novels and memoirs you may also enjoy. Find them at our new-books display (across from our Research Help Desk), or see the collection in our group catalog: http://camino.worldcat.org/profiles/kgs/lists/2279881
Barry, Lynda. 2000. The greatest of Marlys! Seattle: Sasquatch Books. Marlys is smart--and very unpopular. Her take on life will make almost anyone laugh.
Bechdel, Alison. 2007. Fun home: a family tragicomic. Boston: Houghton Mifflin. An award-winning autobiography of life with a closeted gay father. Not the perkiest book, but beautifully written and illustrated. Highly recommended by library director Karen Schneider.
Clowes, Daniel. 2007. Ghost world. Seattle, Wash: Fantagraphics Books. A story about a friendship between two young women challenged by one friend going off to college. Profane, funny, and touching.
Gaiman, Neil, Sam Kieth, Mike Dringenberg, and Malcolm Jones. 2010. The Sandman. [Volume 1], Preludes & nocturnes. New York: Vertigo. Gorgeous artwork and an ambitious narrative; some say this is the best graphic novel of all time.
Miller, Frank. 2002. Batman: the Dark Knight returns. New York, N.Y.: DC Comics. Sophisticated, stylish, brooding: this title is cited by many aficionados as THE best Batman book.
Moore, Alan, Dave Gibbons, and John Higgins. 2008. Watchmen. New York: DC Comics. A sophisticated plot and gorgeous artwork make this a hard book to put down.
(DVD) Persepolis. Culver City, Calif: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment. The movie won an Academy Award, and in some ways is even better than the book.
Satrapi, Marjane. 2004. Persepolis 2: the story of a return. New York: Pantheon Books. If you enjoyed Persepolis, this is an obvious follow-up.
Satrapi, Marjane. 2003. Persepolis. New York: Pantheon Books. The HNU Connections Project 2010 selection.
Spiegelman, Art. 1991. Maus II: a survivor's tale : and here my troubles began. New York: Pantheon Books. A biography of Spiegelman's father's experience in the Holocaust. Animals portray characters (the Jews are mice, the Germans cats). Extraordinary and haunting.
Spiegelman, Art, and Art Spiegelman. 1991. Maus I: a survivor's tale : my father bleeds history. New York: Pantheon Books. Just as good as Maus I and an obvious follow-up to find out what happens to Vladek.
Ware, Chris. 2002. Jimmy Corrigan: the smartest kid on earth. New York: Pantheon Books. Delightfully idiosyncratic story of a loser's life, told through historical flashbacks of life in Chicago.
Yang, Gene Luen, and Lark Pien. 2009. American born Chinese. New York: Square Fish. Chris Kyauk, our Head of Access Services, calls this "a book that truly captures the dilemma of being different in America by sheer virtue of race and culture."
Select eReference Books on Iran
- CIA World Factbook: IranThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim WorldThis encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia: Iran - Political System
- History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts WorldwideThe Iranian Revolution : Islamic fundamentalism confronts modern secularism
Iran is an Islamic fundamentalist state that has repressed dissent for the last twenty years. There have been recent attempts at secularization—attempts to offer dissenting views and liberalize lifestyles. - International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences: Iranian Revolution
- Iran's Diverse Peoples: A Reference SourcebookSpanning a 5,000-year period, this is the first work to document the origins, evolution, and current status of all major ethnic groups in Iran.
- Oxford Guide to Countries of the World: IranThis invaluable global handbook contains separate entries for every country in the world. Each entry gives a succinct overview covering the contemporary social, economic, religious and political issues that shape the country. It also contains vital statistics such as GDP, life expectancy, income distribution, and internet use.
Select eReference Books on Marjane Satrapi
- Encyclopedia of Women's AutobiographyMiddle Eastern Women's Autobiography
- Literary Themes for Students: War and PeacePerspolis: The Story of a Childhood, by Marjane Satrapi
Work overview and plot summary - Newsmakers 2006 Cumulation: Marjane SatrapiShort biography on author Marjane Satrapi.
Select eReference Books on Iranian Culture
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionSeach this title for the Middle East History of Islamic Dress and Contemporary Islamic Dress.
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture - Shi'ite Islam
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa - Hijab
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences: Veil, in Middle Eastern and Northern African Cultures
Ask a Librarian
Librarians are available to help you with your research.
![]()
Chat
Email
Appointment
Drop-in assistance is available Monday - Friday from 1pm - 3pm.
Reference Databases
Online reference books are a great way to start your research project. You can get background information to develop your research topic.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference offers hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and specialized reference works. A good place to begin investigating a new topic. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers a broad range of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books. - Oxford Reference Online Premium
This collection offers hundreds of language and subject reference works, and is particularly strong in the humanitites.




Loading...
Loading...
