This is the "Psychology Resources Guide" page of the "Psychology Resources Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology Resources Guide   Tags: psyc  

Last Updated: Feb 4, 2014 URL: http://hnu.libguides.com/psychology Print Guide RSS Updates

Psychology Resources Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Browse the Shelves

Print books are organized on the shelf by subject. Most works on psychology are shelved under Class B, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion.

You can also search our complete catalog on our library homepage.

Library of Congress Classification

Subclass BF - Psychology

1-990 - Psychology
  • BF173-175.5 - Psychoanalysis
  • BF176-176.5 - Psychological tests and testing
  • BF180-198.7 - Experimental psychology
  • BF207-209 - Psychotrophic drugs and other substances
  • BF309-499 - Consciousness. Cognition.
  • BF501-505 - Motivation
  • BF636-637 - Applied psychology
  • BF692-692.5 - Psychology of sex. Sexual behavior.
  • BF698-698.9 - Personality.
  • BF712-724.85 - Developmental psychology.

1001-1339 - Parapsychology

1404-2055 - Occult Sciences

Reference Databases

Online reference books are a great way to start your research project. You can get background information to develop your research topic.

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference offers hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and specialized reference works. A good place to begin investigating a new topic.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Searchable, online reference encyclopedias and dictionaries from Gale-Cengage.
 

RefWorks - Online Citation Manager

Use RefWorks, an online citation manager, to keep track of all your articles and to create a bibliography for your research papers. Learn more about it on our RefWorks Guide.

 

Introduction.

Welcome to the Research Guide for Psychology.

You will find links to encyclopedias and reference databases, scholarly article sources, and other materials useful for research in the field of psychology.

The Red Book

Cushing Library has recently acquired The Red Book, Carl Jung's magnum opus, featuring facsimiles of Jung's hand-lettered and illustrated pages. According to Holy Names psychology professor Dr. Perri Franskoviak, "Jung believed that every bit of the human psyche and lived experience was valuable, and could be used to promote growth and change.  Written after he and Freud went their separate ways, between 1913 and 1930, The Red Book provides us with a glimpse into the shadowy recesses and light filled corners of Jung's mind, his hopes and his despair, all of which, he would say, contributed to him becoming himself."

The Red Book is on display adjacent to the Research Help Desk. This folio-sized work of art contains dozens of beautiful and thought provoking illustrations. View more photos of The Red Book on the HNU Library flickr account.

Image from The Red Book, Carl Jung

Statistical Sources in Psychology

The links listed here can be used to find reliable statistical data to support research papers and projects.

Psychology Video Collection

Daniel Ransom

 

Ask a Librarian

TextText 510-746-8103
Appointment Appointment

Librarians are available most weekday afternoons and evenings, and Saturdays.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip