Last Updated: Jul 30, 2012
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Reference Resources
Online reference books are a great way to start your research project. You can get background information to develop your research topic.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference offers hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and specialized reference works. A good place to begin investigating a new topic.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Searchable, online reference encyclopedias and dictionaries from Gale-Cengage.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium
This collection offers hundreds of language and subject reference works, and is particularly strong in the humanitites.
- Oxford Music Online
Thousands of articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. Includes Grove Music, Oxford Music Online, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary is the definitive record of the English language. In addition to meticulously detailed definitions, entries include full etymological histories for each term.
- Bartlett's Quotations
This tenth edition of 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations and was the first new edition of John Bartlett’s corpus to be published after his death in 1905—the new editor, however, choosing more to supplement than revise the work of the first name in quotations.
- Credo Titles on Quotations
Credo Reference carries a number of titles on quotations and speeches.
- Oxford Reference Quotations