RefGrab-It
Importing/Exporting in EBSCOImporting/Exporting in ProquestImporting/Exporting in WilsonWebImporting from Sage Journals OnlineImporting from Credo ReferenceImporting from ebraryImporting from Google ScholarImporting from Online Catalogs or DatabasesImporting from Oxford Music OnlineImporting from Other Databases
This is the "RefWorks" page of the "RefWorks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RefWorks  

Last Updated: May 5, 2011 URL: http://hnu.libguides.com/refworks Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

RefWorks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links


 

Group Code

In order to access RefWorks off campus, you will be asked to enter a group code. If you misplace the information for HNU's Group Code, you can contact the library's circulation desk at (510) 436-1332 for the group code during our hours of operation or email us at hnulibrary@hnu.edu.

You will also need the group code if you're using RefWorks on your mobile device such as a smart phone or iPad. Go to www.refworks.com/mobile on your mobile web browser to have your RefWorks on the go. 

Tutorials

  • Basics
    Watch these quick tutorial videos on how to get started with RefWorks. Learn how to navigate around RefWorks, import reference from online databases, search online information from other data sources, organizing your references and building your bibliography.
  • Advanced Features
    These tutorials go more in depth into the features offered in RefWorks including how to use advanced searching, my list feature and editing multiple references.
 

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager for your references. When you're researching for articles in databases, you can simply keep track of your articles you want to use by importing the citation information into your RefWorks account. Your saved references will serve as its own database for when you write your paper. Use the Write-N-Cite program to insert citations into your paper and to create a bibliography list in ALA, MLA, Chicago or other formats. This time saving tool will organize your references and shed the hassle of having to write your bibliography list in the end.

 

Create an Account

If you're using an HNU computer on campus, you can simply access RefWorks here.  The web address is http://www.refworks.com/ if you're using RefWorks off campus. Click on Login to sign into your account. If you're creating an account off campus, please call the circulation desk staff at (510) 436-1332 for the HNU Group Subscriber code to set up your account.

Once you've created a new account, RefWorks will send you an email with your user information including HNU's Group Code for remote access. Save this email, since it contains the group code you need for accessing RefWorks off campus and your user information in case you forget your log-in name or password.

RefWorks Menu Options

  • References
    Add new references, import, export, organize your folders, backup/restore
  • Search
    Advanced search, Lookup by author, descriptor or periodical, Search other online databases or RSS feeds
  • View
    View your folders, All References, My List and Duplicates
  • Folders
    Create New Folder, View your list of folders, Organize your folders and Share your Folders
  • Bibliography
    Output your references in the style of your choice. Choose from APA, MLA, Chicago and many more.
  • Tools
    Download Write-N-Cite for Word and RefGrab-It for your browser.
  • Help
    Links to tutorials, Write-N-Cite help, and help answers.
 

Ask a Librarian

Librarians are available to help you with your research.

Chat
Email Email
AppointmentAppointment

Drop-in assistance is available Monday - Friday from 1pm - 3pm.

 

Direct Export to RefWorks

Refer to the Importing/Exporting References tab to learn more about using Direct Export on the following databases.

- BioMed Central (Requires free user registration)

- CQ Press

- ebrary

- EBSCO

- Gale

- Google Scholar

- Highwire

- HubMed

- OCLC

- Proquest

- Sage Journals Online

- ScienceDirect

- WilsonWeb

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip