HNU Library: Communication Studies: Articles

RefWorks - Online Citation Manager

Use RefWorks, an online citation manager, to keep track of all your articles and to create a bibliography for your research papers. Learn more about it on our RefWorks Guide:

RefWorks Guide

Access to RefWorks:

RefWorks

Tips for Searching Databases

Searching a specific database

This tutorial covers the advantages of searching through specific library databases individually instead of searching the library catalog.

This tutorial covers:

using subject search filters
selecting "Peer Reviewed" articles
locating the full-text PDF to download articles onto your device

We also cover what to do when the HNU Library does not have access to a PDF of the article you want.

Key Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study. CMMC also contains a sophisticated communication thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing.

Communications is inherently multi-disciplinary. Depending on the topic you're researching, you may find useful sources in the following databases from disciplines with which Communications intersects.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center is an index of thousands of scholarly abstracts maintained by the US Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.
JSTOR Current Scholarship & Early Journal Content This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of scanned scholarly articles. We subscribe to new issues of the American Journal of Sociology on the JSTOR platform, and you can also access out-of-copyright articles (published prior to 1923). This is a great resource for researchers looking for historic materials.
ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
Thousands of journal articles and dissertations in Psychology.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text articles related to psychology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Large database maintained by the American Psychological Association containing citation information on a broad range scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences but limited full text.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly articles across many disciplines. Our library's largest and most in-depth general database.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A general database offering thousands of full-text scholarly articles.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from hundreds of journals, particularly strong in the sciences.

If you have a Google/Gmail account, sign into your account and learn how to link your Google Scholar account to our databases.

Find an article you would like access to? Submit an interlibrary loan request for the article and we will try to get it for you from one of our partner libraries.

Cushing Library is now permanently closed. It was a pleasure serving you!

Communication Studies

RefWorks - Online Citation Manager

Tips for Searching Databases

Searching a specific database

Key Databases