ArtSpan is an organization that supports local artists through business education classes, portfolio critiques, providing studio resources, hosting art exhibitions, informing the public about art-related events.
Gray Area Foundation for the Arts is a new media arts organization and exhibition space in San Francisco, California. Gray Area hosts exhibitions and music events, software and electronics classes, a media lab and resident-artist program.
Design Basics presents diverse, visual examples from many periods, peoples, and cultures for all elements and principles of design, featuring an exciting array of stunning new examples of painting, graphic design, architecture, and new media to help students recognize the language of design in everyday life.
This second edition of the landmark textbook Reading Images builds on its reputation as the first systematic and comprehensive account of the grammar of visual design. Drawing on an enormous range of examples from children's drawings to textbook illustrations, photo-journalism to fine art, as well as three-dimensional forms such as sculpture and toys, the authors examine the ways in which images communicate meaning.
Kim Baer takes a methodical and comprehensive approach to conveying the fundamentals of avant-garde, innovative, information design by examining history, theory, criticism, technology and media, process, method, and practice.
Search for additional eBooks from these databases.
Organized by the building blocks of the graphic design language, this reference includes work by some of the most successful and renowned practitioners from around the world and how they have applied these fundamental principles to their work. By examining both student and professional work, this comprehensive handbook is a more meaningful, memorable, and inspiring reference tool for novice design students, as well as young designers starting their careers.
User experience design is one of the fastest-growing specialties in graphic design. Smart companies realize that the most successful products are designed to meet the needs and goals of real people--the users. This means putting the user at the center of the design process.
Best practices for flexible design that meet common challenges The web is constantly changing and evolving with an increased range of devices, browsers, and standards that need to be considered in design.
An introduction to the basic concepts of 3D computer graphics that offers a careful mathematical exposition within a modern computer graphics application programming interface. Computer graphics technology is an amazing success story. Today, all of our PCs are capable of producing high-quality computer-generated images, mostly in the form of video games and virtual-life environments; every summer blockbuster movie includes jaw-dropping computer-generated special effects.
Information design is the visualization of information through graphic design. This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation, and multi-platform delivery.
This volume is a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary encyclopedia of visual design elements and principles. Organized alphabetically, it pairs clear explanations of every design concept with visual examples of the concepts applied in practice.
This book demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The aim of this book is to determine, define, discuss, and illustrate the big ideas that created the critical mass that produced the art and craft of contemporary graphic design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical; to stylistic; to typography; to objects; and methods.
CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study. CMMC also contains a sophisticated communication thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing.