HNU Library: Criminology Research Guide: Articles

RefWorks - Online Citation Manager

Use RefWorks, an online citation manager, to keep track of all your articles and to create a bibliography for your research papers. Learn more about it on our RefWorks Guide:

RefWorks Guide

Access to RefWorks:

RefWorks

Tips for Searching Databases

Searching a specific database

This tutorial covers the advantages of searching through specific library databases individually instead of searching the library catalog.

This tutorial covers:

using subject search filters
selecting "Peer Reviewed" articles
locating the full-text PDF to download articles onto your device

We also cover what to do when the HNU Library does not have access to a PDF of the article you want.

Key Databases

Secondary Source Databases:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly reports covering health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
Thousands of journal articles and dissertations in Psychology.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text articles related to psychology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Large database maintained by the American Psychological Association containing citation information on a broad range scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences but limited full text.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text articles and book chapters from a wide range of journals and eBooks covering a variety of subjects including mathematics and science, history, medicine, technology, business, education, law, and the social sciences.

Primary Source Databases:

Reveal Digital on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This wide-ranging primary source collection includes American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside, which features over 5,500 digitized issues of prison newspapers.

Freedom Archives
The Freedom Archives contains print, audio, and video materials documenting social movements from the 1960s to 1990s, including primary source materials related to law enforcement, prison, and prisoners.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly articles across many disciplines. Our library's largest and most in-depth general database.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A general database offering thousands of full-text scholarly articles.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from hundreds of journals, particularly strong in the sciences.

If you have a Google/Gmail account, sign into your account and learn how to link your Google Scholar account to our databases.

As with anything else, working with case law and legal citations can be tricky at first but gets easier with practice. These resources can help you find materials to work with and get you acclimated to what you're looking at.

Guide to Reading Legal Citations from Davenport University
Wondering what all those letters and numbers mean in a case citation? This guide will help you find your way.
How to Read a Judicial Opinion
Need help reading a legal opinion? This guide from Prof. Orrin S. Kerr at George Washington University both outlines the format and provides a guide for critical thinking.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to full text legal rulings as well as tools for exploring the impact of those rulings through citation.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Taking a look at the news coverage on a case can provide you with details, context, and analysis.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for locating legal scholarship that may come in the wake of court rulings.

Find an article you would like access to? Submit an interlibrary loan request for the article and we will try to get it for you from one of our partner libraries.

Cushing Library is now permanently closed. It was a pleasure serving you!

Criminology Research Guide