The term eBook is an abbreviation for electronic Book, or a book that is available online in a full text format. The Holy Names University Library's eBooks can be read on any desktop or laptop computer and on a number of smart phone/tablet devices, as well as eBook readers.
To access eBooks available through the HNU library, start by selecting the "Book" tab to begin your search!
After beginning your search on the library homepage,
you will be directed to a search results page with a list of books that match your search terms.
The next step to accessing eBooks is to use the filter options:
With these three filters selected your search results list should now be limited to
eBooks available in their entirety to you through the HNU Library.
To access an individual eBook click on the link to "View eBook"
*same as your @my.hnu.edu password*
[usually your 7 digit student ID# + HNU!]
The HNU library's available eBooks are primarily accessed through our three eBook platforms:
Proquest Ebrary, EBSCO eBook Collection and JSTOR eBook Collection.
Each database has a unique interface and user experience. For both the EBSCO eBook Collection and JSTOR eBook Collection databases you can simply download the PDF directly onto your device. However, using Proquest Ebrary will require you to install Adobe Digital Editions onto your device before downloading any eBooks.
The table below illustrates how to download and read eBooks offline for each of the three databases.
Sign up for a free Ebrary account
Install Adobe Digital Editions
Download eBook as a PDF
Download eBook chapters as PDFs
|Check out this Proquest Ebrary Guide!||Checkout this EBSCO eBook Guide!||Checkout this JSTOR eBook Guide!|