HNU Library: Latin American Latinx Studies: Web Resources

What is a Credible Web Source?

When evaluating a web site, check these basic points:

Author – if you cannot determine who is responsible for the content of a website (either an individual or organization), you won't be able to gauge their expertise or relationship to the subject.
Domain – the last segment of the "root" of the URL (for example, hnu.edu) will tell you if the source of information is educational (.edu), governmental (.gov), or commercial (.com).
Date of creation or revision – it is important to establish that any content containing data, facts or statistics is up-to-date and still relevant.
Intended audience – if the content is intended for an academic audience, the website should provide information that can be verified using citations or external links.
Purpose of the information – the ratio of content to advertisement will tell you whether the site is being used to inform readers, or to make money.

Political Database of the Americas
The PDBA offers centralized information about institutions, political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers
A detailed listing of newspapers by country in Latin American & the Caribbean, as well as the U.S.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
More than 5,000 titles including many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection.
Smithsonian Latino Center
The Smithsonian Latino Center works with the entire network of Smithsonian museums, research centers, programs and almost 200 affiliates nationwide to ensure that Latino culture, achievement and contributions are celebrated and recognized.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean is a cooperative library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.DLoC provides access to digitized version of Caribbean cultural, historical, and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Latin American Network Information Center
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is associated with the University of Texas at Austin's Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies. LANIC provides an extensive collection of links to online information to, from or on Latin America.
Pew Research Hispanic Center
The Pew Hispanic Center has a wealth of data related to the Latino communities in the United States. Data includes demographic, immigration, education and political facets.
Chicano Studies Research Center
The UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) was designed to have a systemic impact on the campus and in the field. Its research mission is supported by five distinct components: a library with special collections archive, an academic press, collaborative research projects, public programs and community-based partnerships, and a competitive grant and fellowship program.

Latin American Studies Association
LASA is the largest professional Association in the world for individuals and institutions engaged in the study of Latin America. LASA's mission is to foster intellectual discussion, research, and teaching on Latin America, the Caribbean