HNU Library: Music Education Research Guide: Books/eBooks

Browse the Shelves

Books are organized on the shelf by subject using Call Numbers

Library Call Numbers for

Music:

# SUBJECT

M - Individual composers.

Instrumental music.

ML - Music Literature.

Music criticism.

Social aspects.

MT - Instruction.

Instrument technique.

Vocal technique.

Recommended Books/eBooks for Music Education

Books/eBooks are organized into categories by subject. The library has identified some of those subject categories related to Biological Sciences below. You can use these subject quick links to find books and ebooks in the HNU library catalog. You can also search our complete catalog through the library homepage.

Try searching the HNU Library Catalog using these subjects:

Ethnomusicology	Music Composition
Music social aspects	Music Theory

Books and eBooks

Verdi and/or Wagner by Peter Conrad
Call Number: ML390 .C734 2014
An exploration of the lives and works of Verdi and Wagner as well as their respective legacies to the present day, written by a noted cultural critic.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education, Volume 1 by Gary E. McPherson (Editor); Graham F. Welch (Editor)
Call Number: MT1 .O93 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-08
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education offers a comprehensive overview of the many facets of musical experience, behavior and development in relation to this diverse variety of contexts. In this first of two volumes, an international list of contributors discuss a range of key issues and concepts associated with music learning and teaching.
Crisis of Classical Music in America by Robert Freeman
Call Number: MT3 .U5 F74 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-14
This book maps a broad range of reforms required in the field of advanced music education and the organizations responsible for that education.

Collaborative Learning in Higher Music Education by Helena Gaunt (Editor); Heidi Westerlund (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-03-18
In higher music education, learning in social settings (orchestras, choirs, bands, chamber music and so on) is prevalent, yet understanding of such learning rests heavily on the transmission of knowledge and skill from master to apprentice.
Five Lives in Music by Cecelia Hopkins Porter
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
Representing a historical cross-section of performance and training in Western music since the seventeenth century, Five Lives in Music brings to light the private and performance lives of five remarkable women musicians and composers.
Gender and Composition in the Music Technology Classroom by Victoria Armstrong
Publication Date: 2011-09-28
The use of computers and associated compositional software in music education is frequently decontextualized from cultural and social relationships, thereby ignoring the fact that new technologies are used and developed within existing social spaces that are always already delineated along gender lines.

Search for additional eBooks from these databases.

EBSCOhost eBooks This link opens in a new window
Approximately 6,000 eBooks on a variety of topics.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 eBooks on a full range of academic topics instantly readable on a browser or downloadable as PDF chapters.

Internet Archive
This archive offers access to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Traditional Music Library
A wealth of resources for musicians including web reprints of numerous classic folk song collections.

Dictionary of Music Education by Irma H. Collins; Carolynn A. Lindeman (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Collins includes information about a variety of English-speaking countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia, emphasizing the impact music education researchers and organizations have had on one another across the globe.
Research Methodologies in Music Education by Ann Kay Hartwig
Publication Date: 2014-02-15
This volume provides an understanding of various research methodologies that have been used in music education projects. These methodologies include: historical research; quantitative research; narrative inquiry; action research; ethnography; case study; interpretative phenomenological analysis; arts-based methods; and mixed methods.

Search for additional online reference books in Credo.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and specialized reference works. A good place to begin investigating a new topic.

Cushing Library is now permanently closed. It was a pleasure serving you!

Music Education Research Guide

Browse the Shelves

Recommended Books/eBooks for Music Education

Books and eBooks