Music Education Research Guide

The Music Library located in Kennedy rm 404 is primarily a reference collection. It is staffed mostly by student working on fellowships, so library hours change from semester to semester. The current semester's schedule will be posted outside the door of the library and the Music Office and will be distributed to all music students (once it has been created). Please call 436-1562 before you come to make sure the Library is open.

The mini-scores and LPs are the only materials available for checkout. You are welcome to use our CD burner to copy CDs from our collection.

Click Here for Online Information About the Kodály Center

Click Here for The American Folk Song Collection at HNU

(* indicates new collection or archive)

CD Collection

• CDs including primarily Folk Music and Classical Music (organized by instrumentation/voicing - choral, piano solo, instrumentals, etc.)
• Cassette tape recordings of Folk Music LP Collection including liner notes. Some of these recordings are not found in LP Collection, only here.

LP Collection (primarily classical, with index by composer)

Folk Music

• Folk Song Collection Master Copies (indexes by: song type, tone set, title)
• Pentatonic Folk Song Collection (by tone set)
• Diatonic Folk Song Collection (by tone set)
• Foreign Language Music Series (Asian, Spanish, Italian, Czech)
• Hungarian Music Series Books (Enek Zene, etc.)
• Hungarian Language Books Related to folk music
• Folk Music LP Collection (with indexes by genre and song title)
• Hungarian, Kodály related LP recordings
• Recorded Anthology of American Music LP Collection
• Miscellaneous Folk Music LPs

Reference Materials and Journals

• Music History, Appreciation and Jazz
• Music Anthologies
• Writing/Source Citation Reference
• Music Dictionaries and Reference
• Language Dictionaries, Music Notation Reference
• Choral Conducting, Vocal Technique
• Analysis, Theory, Orchestration, Musicianship
• Recorder Music and Methods
• Music Related Journals (alpha by title)

Choral Music see files on computer desktop for indexes of all choral music

• Kodály Choral Library (2-part exercises, etc.)
• * Choral Music Browsing Collection
• * Photocopied Choral Music (out of print, Hungarian editions)
• Choral Music Library (multiple copies stored in choral closet)
• Oversized Choral Music Scores (unindexed)

Archival Materials

• * NCAKE Archives (newsletters and workshop materials with index)
• * Kodály Center Archives (Children's Choral Festival, Summer Institute archives)
• Music Conference Materials (including OAKE, IKS, IFMS)

Kodály Students' Masters Projects (1975 - 1987)

Mini-Scores (with index alpha by composer)

Piano Pedagogy Materials (alpha by book title)

Faculty boxes with materials on reserve