All are welcome to visit Cushing Library. Service animals are always welcome. Minors must be accompanied and supervised by a parent or guardian at all times. Individuals with a valid HNU ID card will have full access and borrowing privileges to the library's resources including electronic resources from off-campus. From time to time, to ensure best service, we may ask you to present ID.
Loan periods will vary depending on your user status. Please refer to our borrowing policies page for the complete borrowing terms.
ID cards can be obtained at the Student Resource Center located in the Hester Administration Building.
Learn how to connect to the HNU Wireless Network.
Current HNU Students with Campus ID card and current year sticker
Your HNU campus student ID card serves as your library card for borrowing materials from the library.
Current HNU Faculty and Staff
Your HNU campus faculty/staff ID card serves as your library card for borrowing materials from the library.
Alumnae can apply for a Cushing Library Community Borrowing Card. We will verify your alumnae status with the HNU Alumnae Relations office. You must present a valid picture ID card to be issued an HNU borrowing card.
Community Members/Campus Visitors
Community members are welcomed to visit and access the library. Visitors are welcome to browse the stacks and access the materials on the premise but may not check out the materials. The library hosts various events which are open to the public. Check the library events calendar for upcoming events.
HNU emeritus faculty can retain their HNU ID card to check out books and use other library resources.
NCCPL Direct Borrowing Pass
Northern California Consortium of Psychology Library patrons may register for borrowing privileges. Patrons can obtain a Direct Borrowing Pass from their NCCPL home library and present the pass along with a valid picture ID card for borrowing privileges to our collection. For more information, visit the NCCPL website.
Cushing Library Archive Room Collection Policy
Describes the mission, collection focus, types of material collected, collection guidelines, and guidance for visitors of the Archive Room.
Circulation Loan Period
|Item Type||Loan Period||Limit||Renewals||Fines/Fees|
|General Stacks||6 weeks||15||4||$0.00/day|
|Reserves - 3 hours||Varies||3||1||$1.00/hr|
|Reserves - 1 day, 3 day, 7 day||Varies||3||1||$5.00/day|
|Equipment (chargers, adapters, etc)||1 week||5||1||$1.00/day|
|4 Hour Loan Laptop||4 hours||1||1||$5.00/hr|
|1 Day Loan Laptop||1day||1||1||$5.00/day|
|Education Assessment Tests||1 week||1||1||$5.00/day|
|Item Type||Loan Period||Limit||Renewals||Fines/Fees|
|General Stacks||1 semester||15||1||N/A|
|4 hour laptop||4 hours||1||1||N/A|
|Item Type||Loan Period||Limits||Renewals||Fines/Fees|
|Generals Stacks||6 weeks||5||4||$0.00/day|
Overdue Fines/Lost Materials
Overdue materials will accrue fines if they are returned past the due date. Overdue fines can be paid at the circulation desk with either cash or check.
Borrowing privileges, including interlibrary loan items, can be suspended due to unpaid fines due to the library. Unpaid bill totals of $20.00 or more will result in blocked borrowing privileges.
Unpaid lost item fees that have transferred to the Student Accounts Office may prevent users from registering for classes or withholding transcripts. Users with assumed lost items could result in blocked borrowing privileges until items are returned or the assumed lost fees have been paid.
Students will receive an automated email reminder notice 3-days prior to the due date for books, DVDs and other standard items. Once the item is past the due date, the Library will send a total of 5 overdue notices from the time the item is 3 days past the due date through the 27th day past the due date. After the last notice has been sent and the book or item is one month overdue, it will be declared assumed lost.
Bill notices will also be sent by email for any bills owed to the Library due to overdue fines.
List of library notices:
Books and other items are declared lost if they have not been returned a month after the due date. Users will be charged an average replacement cost of $55.00 per book plus $20.00 processing fee. Replacement cost for equipment are outlined in our Equipment Lending Agreement page plus a $20.00 processing fee. Once the item has been processed as Lost, the bills will be transferred to Student Accounts for payment. If it is returned later but within the school semester, the patron will be charged the fine accumulated from the date the book was due to the date it was returned, to a maximum fine of $20.00.
Damaged books will be charged to the patron at the cost of the replacement. The library staff will determine the cost for the replacement item and bill the patron. Damaged interlibrary loan books will be determined by the lending library and will be billed towards the patron for the replacement fees.
Cushing Library strives to provide a safe and inviting environment suitable for study, research, creating, collaborating, and other scholarly related activities. Cushing Library maintains a scholarly environment free from discrimination, intimidation, and harassment.
Our Code of Conduct policy is applicable to all library users, including event attendees, and is enforceable by all library staff. By entering the Cushing Library, you agree to all applicable policies, including conduct and behavior.
The use and conduct policies are applicable to all library users and are enforceable by all library staff.
HNU Students are obligated to follow a code of responsible behavior outlined in the Student Conduct Code, which assumes that all persons must treat one another with dignity and respect for scholarship to thrive.
Cushing Library expects users to abide by the following:
The following are prohibited in Cushing Library:
Users whose actions violate any of these rules may be asked to leave the library or they may be removed from the library by Campus Security. Serious or repeated violation of the rules may result in the permanent denial of services.
We reserve the right to have all non-compliant users removed from the premises.
The Collection Management Policy serves as guide for library staff and faculty when selecting and deselecting collection materials. The policy defines activities, responsibilities, subjects, quality, and formats of materials that best support the curriculum and research at Holy Names University.
The primary goal of the policy is to ensure Cushing Library collections are current, relevant, accessible, and of the upmost benefit to the students, faculty, and staff of Holy Names University.
For support with inaccessible materials and resources, please email email@example.com.
Selection Activities and Responsibilities
Cushing Library librarians serve as subject liaisons to the four schools at Holy Names University: The School of Arts and Sciences, the School of Business and Applied Social Sciences, the School of Education, and the School of Nursing. In this role, librarians are responsible for selecting and building a collection of materials that best serve their subject areas. Librarians work closely with their constituents to keep them informed of collection changes and updates.
Faculty work with School Deans and their librarian subject liaison to recommend collection changes and updates.
Students may suggest and recommend collection changes and updates.
Cushing Library is part of the OCLC WorldShare Interlibrary Loan and the SCELC Camino networks, actively participating in reciprocal lending programs to bring more resources to the students, faculty, and staff of Holy Names University.
Selection Guidelines and Criteria for the Collection
The selection of materials and resources at Cushing Library occurs continuously. In selecting materials, librarians consider the following:
Collection Management and Maintenance
As with the selection of materials, Cushing Library staff evaluate collection materials on an on-going basis. Librarians evaluate materials based on the needs of the collection, changes in curriculum, and condition of materials.Retention
For those items nearing shelf expiration, Cushing Library staff bases the retention of these items on the following:
When materials become outdated or otherwise do not support the Holy Names University curriculum, the items are deselected (removed) from the collection. Cushing Library partners with Better World Books and sends removed books to them for resell. Cushing Library also works with partner libraries and library programs interested in our deselected items.
We hope to welcome community members to visit Cushing Library once COVID-19 restrictions are lifted. Currently, we're only open to current HNU students, faculty and staff.
Community members may not check out any materials and are not eligible for our Interlibrary Loan service.
The library hosts various events which are open to the public. Check the library events calendar for upcoming events.
Most material available on the Internet, whether from freely accessible web sites or from subscription databases such as those available through the Cushing Library at HNU, are protected by copyright law, whether or not a statement of copyright is visible on the page being viewed. The Cushing Library upholds all provisions of United States copyright laws, including 17 United States Code sections 107 and 108 governing fair use and reproduction by libraries and archives.
Patrons using copier or printing services are responsible for any infringements of copyright laws.
Notice: Warning concerning copyright restrictions --
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use”, that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.Acquiring Copyright Permission
Copyright Clearance Center
The Copyright Clearance Center is a for-profit service that grants permission to reproduce copyrighted content such as articles and book chapters in Blackboard, photocopies, coursepacks, library reserves, Web sites, e-mail and more. Permission fees are generally about 15 cents per page (some resources are higher, some are lower).
The Library reserves most of its book budget for faculty-selected materials. This includes obtaining CCC permissions for course materials. Let the Library know the articles you wish to acquire rights for. You can use the following information to estimate the cost of acquiring permissions for each item you wish to use in class.
Other Copyright Clearance Sources
The Copyright Clearance Center has a large database, but it isn't comprehensive. For help securing permissions for resources you can't locate in CCC, see this guide from Dartmouth.
Food is not permitted in the library following Alameda County's COVID-19 guidelines for indoor dining. Food can be eaten outside on the tables in the Corrigan Courtyard or St. Francis Courtyard. Covered drinks and water bottles are allowed.
All monetary donations will be acknowledged in writing. Please make checks payable to Holy Names University and note it is for the Paul J. Cushing Library. Please feel free to call the Office of Institutional Advancement at (510) 436-1245 should you wish to receive more information about making a monetary gift to benefit the Cushing Library.
Donations of books and other materials are accepted on a case-by-case basis, due to the need to conserve shelf space and prioritize books that support current course requirements.
The Library regrets it cannot appraise donations, but will be pleased to acknowledge donations in writing if requested. Provide a list of donated items and your contact information.
For the 2021-2022 academic year, the library will not be providing group study space due to COVID-19.
The Paul J. Cushing Library has 4 study rooms, a large group study table, and one seminar room available for use by current students, faculty, and staff at Holy Names University. These rooms may be used for study, meetings, and instruction.
For reserving study rooms in advance, see the Library Calendar tab for room availability, then fill out the form at the bottom of this page.
Study rooms can also be used on a walk-in basis (minimum two or more users). Room reservations preempt walk-in users. We post the daily reservation schedule on the front of each door.
Guidelines for Study Room Use
All rooms have tables, chairs, and whiteboards. The Seminar Room has a projector and built-in speakers. If you need erasers, whiteboard pens, or whiteboard cleaner, just ask the front desk. The Seminar Room also has a kit available for checkout with an assortment of cables and adapters.
We are privileged to have the walls of the Library graced with the work of guest artists. The following guidelines help this practice continue.
How many requests can I make at one time?
We ask you to limit your requests to ten items per week. Last-minute requests for more than ten items per week can be discussed with the Resource Sharing Specialist (email firstname.lastname@example.org).
Will I always get the material I request?
Although we will make every attempt to fill your request, we cannot guarantee that we can find a lender to supply your item.
Does the library ever buy the book instead of requesting it through interlibrary loan?
Yes. Sometimes it is faster and cheaper to buy the book and add it to our collection. Other times, buying a new or used copy is the only way we can supply an item. Depending on the situation, we may contact you by campus email for more information.
How do you let me know that my request has arrived?
We use campus email to notify you that the item is available for pickup.
How long will my items be held at the library?
All interlibrary loan material will stay on the holds shelf for 10 days. After that, it will be returned to the lending library. Patrons will be sent to two e-mail notices to their HNU address to pick up their materials. If you are unable to pick up the items in time, please let us know before they are sent back.
Can I use my personal email address to request items or respond to library correspondence?
Due to state privacy guidelines, we can only communicate with HNU users through campus (HNU) email addresses.
Where do I pick up the items?
Students may pick up items at the Access Services desk. Faculty and staff have the option of requesting office delivery--please indicate this on the request form when you place your request.
What if I can't pick up my interlibrary loan by its due date?
To stay on good terms with lending libraries, we must return books by their due date unless you give us sufficient time to request a renewal. Lending libraries are not required to honor requests for renewals, and frequently decline these requests.
Can a borrowed book be recalled early?
Yes. If the lending library recalls the book at any time during the loan period, we must comply immediately with the recall request.
Are there kinds of materials that are less likely to be fulfilled through interlibrary loan?
In some cases, it is simply not possible to locate a library that is willing or able to lend the book or article you have requested. This is especially true of recently published materials, out-of-print books, unusually-sized material, masters' theses, doctoral dissertations, CDs, DVDs, and materials published in languages other than English. Theses and dissertations, for example, are usually owned only by the sponsoring university, and many institutions will not lend these difficult-to-replace titles.
We will let you know if a request cannot be fulfilled, and we will work with you to acquire the resource or information through other means.
What happens if I lose or damage a book?
You, the borrower, are responsible for the book in your care. If you lose or damage it, you will be billed the replacement cost as determined by the lending library. Your interlibrary loan and Cushing Library borrowing privileges will be suspended until full restitution is made.
Can I use my ILL item as a course reserve?
Due to copyright law, you can not use interlibrary loan items as a course reserve. Please contact us if you'd like to recommend a purchase or use the "Recommend a purchase" link from the Library's main page.
What happens if I am overdue in returning an interlibrary loan book?
If you are overdue in returning a book borrowed from another institution, you will be given two courtesy reminders by email or telephone. If you do not respond to the second reminder within 72 hours, your Cushing Library and interlibrary loan borrowing privileges will be suspended until the book is returned or full restitution is made. If you are unable to return a book during normal hours, please use our book drop near Hester!
Why is Cushing Library so strict about returning interlibrary loan books?
Interlibrary loan practices rely on mutual trust among libraries. Libraries like to lend to one another, but "bad lenders" gain a reputation for late and lost materials, and libraries stop loaning to them. Our own collection is very small and we rely on the generosity of libraries worldwide to support research needs. We want to be a model borrower so we have access to the millions of items available through interlibrary loan worldwide.
Who can I call with questions?
For specific questions about interlibrary loan policies or procedures not addressed here, or for questions about the status of a pending request, the possibility of renewing a loan; overdue, lost, or damaged items; or billing notices, please contact email@example.com.
Course reserves are materials chosen by faculty to support class instruction. Print reserves (books and articles) are maintained at the Cushing Library Circulation Desk. Electronic reserves can be linked to from within Canvas.
Before placing an item on print or electronic reserves, be sure to read our section on copyright and reserves.
How to Place Print Reserves (Books, Articles, DVDs, and other "Hard Copy" Items) on Reserve
Course reserves can be faculty-owned items or items already owned by the library.
Complete the Course Reserve Form (link located to the left) and bring it in with the item(s) you would like to place on reserve. Additionally, copyright notices are required for all hard-copy articles and book chapters placed on print reserve.
Please note: Cushing Library does not purchase course reserves material. Please coordinate purchases with your department's administrative coordinator.
Time for Processing Print Reserve Materials
Materials to be added on reserve are processed Monday - Friday. If readings need to be available the first week of classes, the library will need your materials or reserve lists two weeks before classes start. If you cannot meet this deadline, indicate the date each reserve reading is needed (you could give us a syllabus or reading list), and we will attempt to get each one on reserve ahead of the required date. Keep in mind that at the start of the semester (2 weeks before classes start until a month after) processing time for reserves may take up to a week depending on the backlog.
Print Reserve Loan Periods
Print reserves have five possible loan periods:
Fines for Overdue Print Reserves
Removal from Reserves
To keep Cushing Library in compliance with U.S. copyright law, all course reserve materials are removed from reserves at the end of each term. Faculty-owned materials will be returned to department admins, and library materials will be re-shelved. Items that require being on reserve for concurrent terms must be resubmitted at the beginning of each semester and require written approval from the copyright holder.