Politics and History Research Guide

The DPLA is a portal to cross-search archival collections from museums and libraries across the United States.

The Internet Archive is an effort to create a comprehensive library on the web, containing scanned books out of copyright, archived web pages, audio, and other electronic media that can be accessed, downloaded, and used for research or educational purposes.

A project of the Internet Archive, Open Library is a website dedicated to collecting electronic editions of the books and sharing them with users, a digital library for the world.

Project Gutenberg, named for the German inventor of the printing press, is an ongoing effort to make available books in the public domain as downloadable eBooks. Project Gutenberg can be searched and items can be downloaded in different formats for computers, Kindles, iPads, and other devices.

The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy. The Digital Archive is overseen by the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program and focuses on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation.

Provided by the Library of Congress, American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Digital archive hosted by the University of California, Santa Barbara containing over 88,000 documents relating to the United States Presidency.

Created by George Mason University, History Matters is a gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history.

This is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard University that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, it includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.